Books are for Squares

There’s a very long list of things I should be doing at the moment.

Courses are finally getting underway, and I’m slowly starting to realize that not having studied since April isn’t helping me much. I’m out of practice when it comes to being a student, and even with only three classes and one independent study, anxiety is starting to creep into the farthest outreaches of my attention span. Frank, our German roommate, says he thinks the standards here aren’t too strict, but I have a sneaking suspicion that if I believe him I’ll end up with terrible marks. Best to think that every professor here will be insanely difficult and be proven wrong than the other way around.

The courses themselves are grand. The professors are so enthusiastic (even if some of the students have a hard time getting fired up about Wuthering Heights) and the readings keep my interest no matter the topic. Assessments are my only concern — there are no exams, only essays, usually two per course. The entirety of my grade rests on two papers, which makes me absolutely crazy.

There are papers to write and stories to edit and books to read and sleep to catch up on. I can’t believe I’ve already been here a month. There are so many things I’ve done that I never thought I would, and so many things left to see. I’m ready to get going, which makes sitting still and studying very, very difficult.

PS. Ms. Haley likes to read my posts and criticize me. Any recommendations on how to ship a flatmate back to America for cheap?
image

Leave a Reply

